Summer Meisner Intensive Interview with Sara Kohler – Maggie Flanigan Studio – Telephone (917) 789-1599

Summer Meisner Intensive Interview with Sara Kohler - Maggie Flanigan Studio - Telephone (917) 789-1599In this interview with Katie, Sara Kohler talks about the Meisner Summer Intensive at the Maggie Flanigan Studio.

The Meisner Intensive provides students with all the ability to experience what it means to train as an expert actor. In this interview, Sara talks about her expertise in the six-week summer intensive and how it was different than what she previously thought the professional training was like.

Q: What did you believe acting training was before you began the Six Week Summer Intensive?

A: I though that training that is acting was a large amount of what I did in school. I didnt think it was crucial for me personally. I didnt know what training so coming here and really meant, and learning the start of the Meisner technique, I began to realize that training was nothing that I thought it was. Its just a brand new way of working that I’d never even thought of and I was trying to step into these characters in my personal scene study classes that I ‘d no notion how to step into. I ‘d no technique and I didnt understand what I was doing. Coming here Ive started to know the best way to work and Ive already learned so much.

Q: What occurred during the Meisner Summer Intensive that changed your perspective on training?

A: Well, I had been beginning to learn what training truly meant, first of all and I learned that clearly I didnt know what I had been doing and what really changed for me was that I realized that I wasnt listening in scenes and I wasnt really taking in and it wasnt just about what had been said to me it was about the way that it was being said to me and Id never thought of that before for some reason. I had been merely always waiting for my cue and saying a line the manner that I thought Id done homework on and that it had been rehearsed by me and actually I didnt even discover how to do assignments, which can be insane. Just thinking back to the summer, how much Ive come is astonishing and it really, really changed my life.

Q:

A: Things came easy for me personally and I was surprised to recognize and come to the decision that everything I had ever done was poor and maybe in college and high school I was one of the higher people in the program and I was always cast as the lead. I was surprised to think back on those roles that Ive played and understood that I had no notion what I used to be doing. With the Meisner technique you actually start to realize what its like to craft and develop a nature and a situation, I didnt possess a technique, I didnt discover the best way to even prepare for a function and I didnt have training and live through something. I had been just shocked and its almost laughable to consider the things that I did before this. Its challenging for me to believe that I have been seen by people and its embarrassing to be quite honest.

Interview and this site post with Sara first appeared on the studio web site: http://www.maggieflaniganstudio.com/summer-intensive-program/

Leave a Reply

